Thread: Noob questions :)

Default Noob questions :)

Thsi is my first post to please don't abuse me to badly.

I ordered this Luxeon Rebel Tri-Star LED before I found these forums so I don't think I have the standard LED everybody else uses?

http://www.luxeonstar.com/Blue-470nm...-b0030-20t.htm

Anyways im still new at electronics and trying to learn. On the website they insist your use a buckpuck. Will I be ok using a resistor instead of a buckpuck?

If I do use a resistor will a 5.6ohm 10watt resistor be sufficient for this with a 9v power supply? Also, for a 9v power supply is it better to have one 9v battery or 6 AA batteries(?) ??

Thanks for the help!

Quote Originally Posted by WillyUT View Post
    Thsi is my first post to please don't abuse me to badly.

I ordered this Luxeon Rebel Tri-Star LED before I found these forums so I don't think I have the standard LED everybody else uses?

http://www.luxeonstar.com/Blue-470nm...-b0030-20t.htm

Anyways im still new at electronics and trying to learn. On the website they insist your use a buckpuck. Will I be ok using a resistor instead of a buckpuck?

If I do use a resistor will a 5.6ohm 10watt resistor be sufficient for this with a 9v power supply? Also, for a 9v power supply is it better to have one 9v battery or 6 AA batteries(?) ??

Thanks for the help!
    Your LED is essentially worthless for use in a saber. There's no optics available to focus the light up into a narrow beam like we need for a blade. If you want a really bright LED for a saber, there are better options here in the store, or other places online you can find if you dig around in the search feature a bit.

For batteries, 9v cells SUCK. They have no capacity. If you need 9 volts, better to use 6AA batteries to achieve it. The single 9V has a capacity of something like 450mAh, where the 6AA solution could have upwards of 2600mAh...MUCH longer run time for the same voltage.