Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: ARKM's "The Tactical" Build (SaberSD board w/ illuminated AV switch)

Default ARKM's "The Impractical Tactical" Build (US 2.5 board w/ illuminated AV switch)

This is my first build log. That said...

I decided I wanted to build a theme based saber. I've always like the look of a tactical assault rifle so I decided to see if I could incorporate that into a saber design. I call this saber "The Tactical".

This saber will utilize a SaberSD sound board (with an assault rifle font that I still need to create), two 3.7 Li-ion AA size batteries, a Lux III Amber or a P4 White (with filters) and both driver boards from TCSS, if I can make them fit. If I can't make the two driver boards fit, I will go with a direct drive buckpuck. The on/off switch will be a DPDT lighted anti-vandal (ring style) that will mounted near the top of the bottom half part of the hilt. I intend to have a full chassis in this hilt (if possible) with the LED and heatsink mounted on the top end.

While designing the saber, I decided I wanted to do more than just go for the "look" of a tactical assault rifle. I wanted the saber to resemble a tactical assault rifle in other ways, ways that most would consider to be gimmicks. I know many frown on gimmicks, I'm just not one of them. I think some gimmicks can be quite cool, even if in a impractical fashion. That said, after I came up with what gimmicks I wanted, I now sometimes affectionately refer to this saber as "The Impractical Tactical".