PDA

View Full Version : Help securing my blade

TannerFrey
12-09-2009, 12:44 AM
i'm working on my first saber and i still need a way to secure my blade because i plan to do some dueling with it. the problem is that the blade holder that i have is MHS style 9. if you don't know off the top of your head, it's tapered. that's the only problem. Do you guys have any tips on drilling and tapping on angled surfaces? the trick is that i want the screws to be perpendicular to the blade. any help is appreciated!

as a side note, if a padawan learner were to seek out a jedi master for help, would the master simply say "read the archives" instead of helping the padawan? Of course not!

$tarkiller
12-09-2009, 01:33 AM
First off, welcome to the forums. Unfortunately, I have never worked with that BH before, so I'm not too sure. Assuming you don't have a drill press or access to one, you might have some trouble drilling the hole yourself. but I would say just keep the screw a little longer than you would if you were using a straight BH, so that way, your screw ill be straight when you screw it in. And that's assuming you bought a thumbscrew. Btw, I can ell you to read all I want. I'm not a Jedi Master. ;) but we need to know what kind of screw you have and yes, do some more reading. As I say to every n00b, read until your eyes hurt.

Jedi-Loreen
12-09-2009, 03:01 AM
What type of drill will you be using? Hand drill or drill press? You'll need to put it in some kind of vice to hold it at an angle so you can get the hole perpendicular.

If using a bench vice and a hand drill, put a rag between the jaws of the vice and the blade holder to protect it.

I have blade holder #10, and it's tapered the same way as #9, it just has the cut outs.