PDA

View Full Version : lightsaber fighting club

Whitetiger
09-12-2009, 10:38 PM
Hello Folks.
I am a high school saber coach, I am starting a lightsaber fighting club and
saber trick spinning academy in IL n Wis.
I am going to use armor from hocky and other sports to protect everyone,
kind of like kendo. I have about 50 kids so far signed up. we will start after this season ends in Feb. We will use the U.S. fencing rules for saber But
no hitting with the point just controlled blade hits above the waist.
( The Point hits way too hard ) so far the fights we have had between my students are #1 very controlled, safe, Fun, and easy to see the hits and awarded the point. We fence to the first 5 point winner. we fence till a hit then we stop reset and go again till someone gets 5 points Just like our sport saber fencing. We have 7 girls fencing too and they can beat the guys too.
I was concerned at first that the slashs would be too hard but its not
any power swing are parryed easyly and the repost fast so hard hitters are put away fast.
the armor is coming on line as we find better stuff that fits to this sport.
hockey full face mask the long kind, neck protector, chest and arm armor,
field hockey gloves, teeth guard, and cup. the referee call the match and stops it award the points. We have been useing the right of way rule.
but may change it to a simo no point our both get points.
not sure yet

well that was long sorry
we are going to use the e series line for now.
I hope to get up to speed on bulding LS and stuff as we get past the season.

I have seen the fighting on youtube its not safe no protection and sloppy.
I hope we can get other clubs up and go to other clubs for a match.
we have 4 sets of armor so far.
i will post some photos soon the white armor is very cool looks like stormtroops and the black looks like vader.
Oh the girls are very aggressive.

well if you have any ideas on any part of this let me know.
thanks
WT

DarthHideous
09-13-2009, 12:13 AM