PDA

View Full Version : Saying Hi! Asking for some tips.

Kastor
07-21-2009, 12:29 PM
First off, I would like to say hello to everyone in the forum!

I'm an aspiring art director for film and video games so naturally a lightsaber is one of those thing I just can't go through life without. I've been looking around at designs to find some inspiration for something I really like. Being a student I can't afford to build a lot of testers so I'm trying to get it right the first time. The trouble is the design style I like looks difficult to fabricate so I'm wondering if any one has some advice on how to fab a hilt of this kind.

Here are some references:

http://i851.photobucket.com/albums/ab78/Kastor_photo/Lightsaber_4_0_by_broodofevil.jpg
Credit to broodofevil

http://i851.photobucket.com/albums/ab78/Kastor_photo/Lightsaber_4_0_w_Stand_by_broodofev.jpg
Credit to broodofevil

http://i851.photobucket.com/albums/ab78/Kastor_photo/Lightsaber_v5_by_broodofevil.png
Credit to broodofevil

http://images4.wikia.nocookie.net/starwars/images/7/76/Sidiouslightsaberside.jpg
And of course Sidious' Electrum

I would really like to do it in metal but I might settle for a casting if I need to but if anyone as any ideas how to work these kinds of curves in metal that would be much appreciated.

Thanks all.

Kal El Rah
07-21-2009, 12:42 PM
Very nice renders:p, to your question, I have no idea.:?

Darth_DevilGuy
07-21-2009, 04:17 PM
welcome!

now that that's outta the way, I have to tell you those are very advanced designs, I've been at this for about 1 1/2 years, I can see how to make that first one and I could source the materials, but I think it's still beyond my skill to do, getting it made would be minimum $400 no electronics.

The way to do it is simple, you freehand cut it from stock aluminum tube with a dremmel and various attachments, but developing that kind of skill will take alot of work and probably a fair amount of $$.

VeggieJedi
07-22-2009, 09:45 AM