PDA

View Full Version : MHS versus Sink Tube Hardware Saber for first timer?

bullvinne
06-02-2009, 06:16 AM
Ok so I am planning to build my first lightsaber and I am trying to find out which would be better for a first timer. I was planning originally to build the Style VIII saber from The Big Yellow Box website and after looking at parts, it seems that I might be in over my head trying to do something like that.

I have seen Novastar's basic sinktube how-to on youtube but I am hoping for something not so plain looking even though it is my first time.

So I would like opinions from you all, which would be best for a first-timer. Trying to go all out and do the Style VIII from Big Yellow Box (probably about 100 bucks for everything), Novastar's basic sinktube saber (costs about 70ish bucks for everything), or save up and get a full MHS saber (Costs about 120-170 Bucks for everything)?

JamoUp
06-02-2009, 06:44 AM
For a first build you should definitely do an MHS based saber. It is easy. It looks cool. And depending on how many pieces you use it is not very expensive. Take a look in the gallery and see what others have done, then play around with the MHS builder (link on store main site). Then go nuts!

bullvinne
06-02-2009, 06:51 AM
I have looked at the gallery and played around with the MS Builder. For a basic saber it will cost me about 65 bucks, 20 bucks for a light kit and 30 for a battle blade so about 105 give or take for a starting MHS saber.

I like how the MHS sabers work but I dont like the highly polished chrome look that comes on the peices. IMO, a lightsaber should be somewhat beaten up and weathered from years of battle and MHS sabers are too clean. Plus I was hoping for other colors/paint then the standard chrome metal look.