PDA

View Full Version : New Idea for Grips

Darth Cyto
03-11-2009, 07:58 PM
Hello, um i am new here to the wonderful TCSS forums, and ive been wanting to make a good lightsaber hilt for a long time. so in my boredom i thought of a new way to make a grip. Heat Shrink Tubing. you just slip it on and apply heat and it tightens around your hilt.(thats what she said:D) but it feels just like rubber and you can cut it up to make different designs.

Thaxos
03-11-2009, 08:31 PM
I'm no expert, but I have used heat shrink tubing before...
Trick is finding the right size. I use it only on my robots which have wires, not tubes in heat shrink tubing. I would love to see how this turns out though.:D

Rhyen Skytracker
03-11-2009, 08:33 PM
If you can find the right size, you can put thin orings under it for a unique look.

Allaerra Secura
03-11-2009, 09:05 PM
Hello, um i am new here to the wonderful TCSS forums, and ive been wanting to make a good lightsaber hilt for a long time. so in my boredom i thought of a new way to make a grip. Heat Shrink Tubing. you just slip it on and apply heat and it tightens around your hilt.(thats what she said:D) but it feels just like rubber and you can cut it up to make different designs.

Nice idea. But not new;)

Lord Dottore Matto
03-12-2009, 02:46 AM
Heatshrink is readily available in any size up to 4" diameter. Google is your friend...and yeah, not a new idea but it is still a solid one.;)

Graphixa
03-12-2009, 03:06 AM
Haha you must have read my mind.

The handle grip concept for my double curved sabers is along this line.

O-rings on the grip area, covered by heatshirnk tube, then faced with black nappa leather, giving a soft ridged grip area!

Graf

Rhyen Skytracker
03-12-2009, 04:09 AM
The only problem is heatshrink that size is expensive.

Obi-Ben
03-12-2009, 08:55 AM
Wouldn't it also be difficult to get heatshrink that size to shrink evenly? I'd think unless it's perfect, it's going to look weird.

Jedi-Loreen
03-12-2009, 09:37 AM