PDA

View Full Version : MR/Hasbro soundboards

Swordlord
02-11-2009, 09:20 PM
As I am new to the fancy electronic saber soundboards, and I haven't ever held an MR or Hasbro saber, I was wondering if the different sabers (ie: Obi-wan, Yoda, Vader, Mace Windu, et al) had different sounds. For instance, does the Yoda saber have a different pitch/hum/clash sound than the Mace Windu saber, etc?

Novastar
02-12-2009, 12:56 AM
Barely. If at all--on the Mace, Yoda, Luke, Obi sabers. Essentially the "good guy" stuff.

Although I *DID* once notice that the Obi-Wan hum pitch seemed different (to me) even with a fresh pack. A bit deeper I think... but... that may have been variances in the way the sound chips play at a certain Hz. Components aren't always going to give (for example) perfect playing at X Hz. It will be give or take a few pitch steps.

However, the Darth Vader/Maul sabers have different sounds... and sadly... only a SINGLE "clash" sound, which is irritating, incorrect for what the movies use as clashes (it's more like a power on sound for sith)... and it sucks. :)

DaJoQuim
02-12-2009, 06:22 PM
I often wondered that myself!!Whys does the sith sabers have two sounds?

Darth Siggious
02-13-2009, 02:37 PM
It is SUCH a shame about the sith soundboards being lame on the clash and whoosh sounds...

It is such a shame because it has (I feel) the BEST idle hum sound...it sounds so bad*ss with its deep pitch and gritty hum sound...what a shame indeed.

And what is the deal with the ghost whoosh sound? Know what I'm talking about? You wave the saber once and it goes Whoosh (whoosh)...what is that additional whoosh for? So sometimes I wave it twice so my friends don't look at me funny and say...your saber's broken. :( - frowny face...