PDA

View Full Version : A UV LED Saber? Blacklight tech

Quezz
11-15-2008, 10:29 PM
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone here ever tried to make a blacklight saber. It's been a fantasy of mine, but I am no engineer. If I were to try something like that, what pitfalls could I run into? Thanx muchly in advance!

Lord Dottore Matto
11-15-2008, 11:06 PM
I have done it, no pictures posted. The major pitfall would be finding the Lux-style black(405-410nm) LED. The source I had no longer exists. I have one in an MHS hilt right now, but that particular hilt is not nearly done yet. Stay tuned...

Jedi-Loreen
11-15-2008, 11:14 PM
UV can damage the eye, if you look directly a it. One of the pitfalls.

A friend had one, I think it was made from 5 High Brightness regular LEDs in a tight group, but it's being returned to the saber smith to have a custom tri rebel installed.

It was kind of fun to play with, to see what would fluoresce under it.

Angelus Lupus
11-16-2008, 07:44 AM
UV can damage the eye, if you look directly a it. One of the pitfalls.
Also the (mostly) non-visible spectrum of light makes it fairly pointless (IMHO) as a lightsaber

It was kind of fun to play with, to see what would fluoresce under it.
Ah, now for that game I use the UV light on my Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver! Yes, I'm a nerd. :-P

Obi-Dar Ke-Gnomie
11-16-2008, 12:23 PM
The royal blue lux III I have must emit a lot of its light into the UV spectrum. When I bring it near anything neon colored, it lights right up, just like under a black light.

Lord Dottore Matto
11-16-2008, 04:07 PM
The royal blue lux III I have must emit a lot of its light into the UV spectrum. When I bring it near anything neon colored, it lights right up, just like under a black light.

If it is a low BIN, then it is just above UV on the spectrum of visible light.

Quezz
11-16-2008, 07:13 PM
Is there a purple version of the royal blue lux III? That would totally work for me.

Lord Dottore Matto
11-16-2008, 08:26 PM