PDA

View Full Version : Graflex Stunt Saber? Help?

chrisgomps07
11-02-2008, 01:20 PM
so i'm new to the customizing a saber, but i plan on making a saber out of a Graflax. this is something that i want to be able to duel with if i feel like, so i dont think i'll make it an actual light up one, unless those can be used to fight... anyways to my question, is it possible to set up the graflex handle to hold a blade that goes all the way into the saber to make it more sturdy? most of the ones i've seen just have the blade go a couple inches into the hilt. any advice would be helpful. thanks.

just add, i did notice that this site is mainly for EL/LED sabers, so if they are able to withstand fighting, let me know.

swear000
11-02-2008, 01:47 PM
The graflex has a plastic housing in it. Once that is removed, you get a hollow metal tube which you can build any way you like. You could, for example, fill the entire tube with a wooden dowel with a hole drilled in the center to hold whatever blade you plan on using. Or you could even have some type of mount custom machined.

The blade holders in the shop are pretty sturdy and when used with a blade retention screw, will hold the plastic blades pretty well. That setup will allow you to have an LED and electronics.

chrisgomps07
11-02-2008, 01:49 PM
The graflex has a plastic housing in it. Once that is removed, you get a hollow metal tube which you can build any way you like. You could, for example, fill the entire tube with a wooden dowel with a hole drilled in the center to hold whatever blade you plan on using. Or you could even have some type of mount custom machined.

The blade holders in the shop are pretty sturdy and when used with a blade retention screw, will hold the plastic blades pretty well. That setup will allow you to have an LED and electronics.

do the blade holders from here go all the way into the saber or just sit at the top? and can they be used without electronics?

Luar Selbor
11-02-2008, 01:53 PM