PDA

View Full Version : Let the battle begin...

Reith
10-23-2008, 10:33 PM
Well first off I'd like to say hello to everyone. My name's Dave (Reith) and i've been checking out custom made lightsabers for quite some time now. Ever since the first time I saw Star Wars I've been incredibly fascinated with the Lightsaber. By far my favorite fantasy weapon, other than plain old magic of course. Haha. I got an FX Saber a couple years ago and that satisfied my curiosity for a while, but I needed more!! It wasn't till about a month ago that I stumbled upon this site and it DEFINITELY sparked that curiosity again! Whether that's a good thing or bad, well I guess we'll see in time. Haha.

So now the question is, where do I start? Well, I'm a mechanical engineer so i'm familiar with many different types of machining tools. The only problem is I pretty much failed all of my circuits classes! (Dang you electricity and your mystical black magic!!!! :mad:) Though I'm not very good at circuits, that's one of the most exciting parts of all this. I'm really hoping to get a better understanding of circuits with hands on experience.

After checking out hundreds of threads and getting a basic understanding of how the process works, i've got a few ideas lurking around in my head. But first I would really like to start out with just a basic saber to introduce me to all this. I've got a list of most of the stuff I need and I think I'm gonna start off with a PVC hilt, a thick polycarbonate blade, then just an LED and switch with no sound. We'll see what happens after that.

So that's great and all, but where's this battle? Well it's inside me! I have yet to decide......light.....or dark? My heart tells me light because of my morals, yet my head tells me dark because I understand the POWER! Whatever happens....I'm sure it'll be an amazing journey!!! :grin:

Lord Dottore Matto
10-23-2008, 10:37 PM