PDA

View Full Version : Crystal chambers

samurai_rob
10-22-2008, 10:04 AM
I'm very new to this, but really want to learn so please take it easy on me...I just saw that some people use real crystals! How does this work? Is it just for looks or does it have a pratical use? Also, I've never done any kind of electrical work before, so can some one tell me if the wiring required is easy to learn? I would hate to invest in a led kit and screw it up. What can I do to practice? Thanks!

xwingband
10-22-2008, 10:54 AM
The crystals are purely for looks. They provide no actual function. The artists of the visual dictionaries drew in focusing crystals above the power cells and it's been written in books that jedi and sith use crystals so people sometimes like to go the "extra mile" for realism.

For wiring: look at the tutorial forums below. Look for soldering videos online. If you want practice you're really just going to have to review those and play with some wire. Soldering is like the metal version of hot glue.

samurai_rob
10-22-2008, 11:21 AM
Thanks for the quick reply! You guys are awesome!

swear000
10-22-2008, 11:24 AM
It looks like you cut a hole in your hilt. I happen to have a few hole saws but square shaped chambers may require some dremel work. Then you can wire a LED under a quartz crystal or acrylic crystal (sold at TCSS shop). Install it in the hilt and throw a metal mesh and sink tube over it and..viola!

Lord Dottore Matto
10-22-2008, 11:47 AM
There are some great soldering tutorials on utube (Erv has a great one!) Here is a link to his channel--->http://www.youtube.com/user/irvinplecter

P.s.- Practice and reading make perfect my brother!;)

samurai_rob
10-22-2008, 12:34 PM