PDA

View Full Version : where and how to wire hasbro board

Danz409
10-22-2008, 09:58 AM
ok, first off, i plan to build a budget saber. but i don't want any that don't have sound so i plan to go the cheapest with the sound, and discovered that gutting an old Hasbro toy light saber for the card works fine. i have a few questions about this. where can i find the cheapest light saber, i ebayed and froogled (googles shopping search) and the used ones seem to be around the price of the new ones, and not many used ones are sold from what i see. is there a site that sells the PCB board alone for cheap. and when i get this. do i wire up the blade too for the blade effects or will the high wattage of the luxan LED turn the board into a crispy critter? would like a totoral that would enplane a lot of the basic stuff, you-tubed it and not much luck there. isn't much at all on Hasbro sound cards, sorry for the noobish questions. but... well theirs a reason... I'm a noob :p first project

ThreeQuadFive
10-22-2008, 10:05 AM
Welcome!

I would strongly suggest the following:

Check out the thread indexes...

Use the search function (we have a TON of topics on this with q's already answered)

Go to Wal-Mart, thats usually the cheaper place.

sithlordfaust
10-22-2008, 10:28 AM
Hey man ...I just went through all this myself. super-noob here
never soldered or heatshrinked or ...any of it. first yes you can run the LED from the board. second as far as tutorial go..

http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com/showthread.php?t=372&highlight=hasbro+sound

try and plan out your hilt as best as possible, buy the metal and an led kit,
when you get your hilt, go buy a hasbro from wally, theyve been 15 lately, CAREFULLY gut it out,try and keep all the wires in tact and as long as you can.

then lay it all out on a table and STUDY your saber parts, the electronics next to the saber, study the hasbro board and compare it to the pics in the thread i gave you here.