PDA

View Full Version : Fitting blade into blade holder

Robodoc
09-05-2008, 07:35 AM
This is my first attempt at building a saber. I ordered the "LED "TCSS style" Battle blade 1" OD (40 inches)" and the "Screw on LED blade holder style 4". Let me first say that the blade holder is a real quality piece of machining! :D But how snug a fit should it be? I ask this because mine is so snug that I can't insert the blade all the way into the blade holder without fear of breaking something. Is this normal and should I use some kind of lubricant?
My second question regards the screw used to hold the blade. I bought some of the nylon screws (4-40 Nylon Screws) from TCSS, but they seems to be too short. Fully tightened, the screw doesn't seems to come into contact with the blade. Any advice or comments would be appreciated.

Malaki Skywalker
09-05-2008, 07:44 AM
I had the same problem with the Blade not fitting very well, just take some sand paper to the bottom area till it fits in nicely. The 4-40 Nylon screws are used for holding the LED's to the heatsink, they are not really ideal or used for the blade retention screw :???:

Obi-Dar Ke-Gnomie
09-05-2008, 07:54 AM
If the blade is a little snug in the blade holder, just sand it a little. There may be a little ridge where it was cut. To make it secure enough to duel with, it should sit all the way in until it bottoms out.

As far as the screw goes, the nylon 4-40 screws are only meant to hold the LED down onto the heat sink. They would never be strong enough to hold your blade in. The thumb screw works by squishing the blade against the opposite side of the blade holder, and creating friction. You need to torque it pretty tight to make it hold. Most people use either the 8-32 or 10-32 thumbscrew or allen head set screw.

Have you drilled and tapped the hole yet? There's a good tutorial here:

http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com/showthread.php?t=5724

Edit: Malaki beat me to it!

Novastar
09-05-2008, 07:58 AM