PDA

View Full Version : Saber Progress

Phiily Manyaan
08-29-2008, 11:30 AM
Wow, I don't know how you guys do it. This is my first time doing serious wiring in a saber, and it is DIFFICULT!!! I'm not getting anything to fit right in the hilt, breaking wires left and right, soldering horribly.....sigh. I'm guessing this is somewhat how everyone's first go around looks. Just wanted to vent my semi-frustration while I'm breaking from it for an hour or two. Anyone have general advice or want to share their first-time story?

BTW, I'm doing Arm on Fire's Joe Jedi/dual 700mA puck setup.

Donnovan Sunrider
08-29-2008, 11:36 AM
If they're breaking at your solder joints, put some heat shrink over them. That will give it a little extra durability.

I'm new too, and I understand the painful learning curve. I'm betting it's way worth it when the project is complete though. :)

ArkaiHalon
08-29-2008, 11:46 AM
my first saber, i ended up soldering the LED backwards. spend 2 hours putting the thing together and was highly peeeeeved when I pushed the button for the first time and instead of brilliant amber light, i got nothing.
Took me an hour to figure out what I had done.

Darth Leximus
08-29-2008, 11:53 AM
Ok, if you are breaking solder joints, then either your soldering job is sub par or you are trying to cram too much into too little space. Either way heat shrink will not help that very much, but I would still recommend using heat shrink after you have a good solder joint.

Test your joints by pulling on them with a decent amount of force BEFORE you attempt to put it in a hilt. If you can easily pull the wires apart with little effort, then you need to redo the joint until it's stong.