PDA

View Full Version : driver boards?

Narth Nefarus
08-04-2008, 11:23 AM
Hello all. I am new to the custom lightsaber world and I am a bit overwhelmed with all the different driver boards out there. Can someone help me out with the pros and cons of the different boards. Oh and as far as the led's go, which is better for a classic sith red luxeon III, V, or Rebel.

Thanks alot in advance
Jon

Darth Leximus
08-04-2008, 01:06 PM
I'm gonna leave the driver board question to someone else cause I just don't have the energy right now, but as far as Red LEDs go..the LuxIII is your man.

Darth_DevilGuy
08-04-2008, 01:38 PM
A high bin Red-O is closest to the movies for the LED, as for the driver there are a number of different options.

Master Replicas:
MR boards are decent sound and light for a lux III, they are however voltage sensitive, anything above 5-6 volts is a no no. overall these cost about $40 - $80 depending.

Standard MR Jedi/Sith saber boards are decent for most Lux III's but won't max out Red Red-O or amber LED's, they are also somewhat rare as they have been out of production for awhile.

MR SW-616/Joe Jedi basically an MR board with both soundsets and a prolight 1w RGB LED, less rare than a standard MR and you may not feel as bad gutting one seeing as there's nothing remotely "collectible" about them. Currently on clearance for $35 from radioshack, can be found on eBay for exorbitant prices.

Plecterlabs:
Currently plecterlabs is out of modules due to a parts shortage.

Driver Dimmer - Powers the LED only, no sound, adds ramp up/down clash and lock, and shimmer effects, works with Lux III and K2. With exchange rates costs maybe $60+ plus shipping from france.

Crystal Focus - Cutting edge of current LED saber technology, features programmable sound and light effects and supports a multitude of different optional features and tricks. Again with the exchange rate this thing costs a bundle $200 is what your looking at right now.

Corbin's Driver: