PDA

View Full Version : Green K2 and how to drive it...

Sithblade
04-22-2008, 06:35 AM
Hi all

I'm building my first saber, and am using a green K2. It came with a circular board with a couple of chips and resistors on it but I can't tell you more than that! I'm new to all this and still trying to understand the electrics side of it.

Anyway, the LED is waaaay brighter when run via this little gizmo than running it directly off some AAA batteries, so I assumed it was stepping the voltage down to increase the current (was I wrong to assume that? Dunno!) However I've tested the voltage on the output to the LED and it's 6v - the same as the input. I haven't tested current as I've already soldered the joints and it would need to be in series.

So my questions are...

Will I blow the LED by running it at 6v? It only needs about 3.6v according to the charts.

Am I getting the best out of the LED, or would I be better off ordering a buckpuck? If so, which buckpuck do I need as there are dozens of them...

This saber is more of a learning project for me, as I'd like to build a second one using a LuxV and CF but I thought I'd be better off frying some cheaper parts before I tackle that... ;)

Novastar
04-22-2008, 08:22 AM
Photos of this little "circle" would be nice, but my guess is that I know what kind of driver that is.

If it *IS* a driver, you probably do NOT need to worry about giving it 6v... in fact, that's probably just fine. Probably.

However, AAA cells may NOT be capable of giving the LED the current draw it needs. It depends on whether or not you have a driver there, too.

For the record, a green K2 has a mfc. specification of 1500ma max continuous current, and a forward voltage around 3.7v or so. Giving the LED more than 4v or so will destroy it... but that would only be if you were giving the LED those volts DIRECTLY, or asking a driver to provide some giant voltage or 2A of current or what not.