PDA

View Full Version : Question about lightsaber electronics

DaMaher
04-21-2008, 05:43 PM
As you can tell, I am a "noob" to this forum, but I've been reading around and I really like what's going on here. I have a few questions:
First:
What is the difference between LED and EL blades (other than the price, of course). Is EL tougher than LED blades?
Second:
What is the difference between the Luxeon III electronics kit, the Luxeon K2 electronics kit, and the Luxeon V electronics kit. Since I am not very good at this kind of thing, which is easiest to set up and install?

Thank you all for reading.

Klaatu
04-21-2008, 05:54 PM
LED KIt install is all pretty basic power-resistor-LED (buck pucks and sound boards make things a little different but thats the basics). EL is a wire (Electroluminescent Wire) that fits inside the blade. LED is a single LED in the hilt that shines up through the blade.

For dueling purposes I believe the concensus around here is LED.

DaMaher
04-21-2008, 06:04 PM
Thank you.

SWAT Strachan
04-21-2008, 06:05 PM
No doubt someone will jump in at this point and saber your head off for not using the search facility, so before they do I'll offer what I can.

LED = Light Emitting Diode, basically a small electric bulb.

EL = Electro-Luminescent wire, a strand of wire coated in phosphorus (I think) which glows when a current is passed through it.

An EL blade will be nowhere near as bright as an LED one, and there is the (very slim) chance of breaking it when duelling as the wire filament is in the blade, where as LED blades are completely hollow (the LED is in the hilt). So technically speaking, the LED blades are the better.

The Lux III, K2 and V all look more-or-less the same, but have different voltage and ampage requirements. This also changes depending on the colour of the LED. There are loads of comparison threads on here, and videos on YouTube to demonstrate the differences in brightness.