PDA

View Full Version : Sound question

Darth Vane
04-17-2008, 05:35 PM
ok first things first YES i am a noob at every thing on here. now the question i have is WHAT IS A SINK TUBE! do i need it to put sound in the saber or can i go with out it???

Thanks

SWAT Strachan
04-17-2008, 05:52 PM
It's literally what the name suggests, it's a pipe from a kitchen sink :mrgreen:. You can build a saber entirely from sink tubing if you like, or you can use sections to decorate / modify an MHS hilt. There's no requirement to use it on a saber.

Darth Vane
04-17-2008, 06:05 PM
oh ok every thing else said that i needed a sink tube to put the sound board in.
so i can do it without?

thanks for answering ! like i said total noob!:mrgreen:

DarthFender
04-17-2008, 06:35 PM
Sounds like you're referring to Erv's Method of securing the Electronics and Battery pack into the hilt. You don't need to do it that way, but the electronics and the battery pack will need to be secured. Otherwise it it possible for something to short out against your saber hilt. It is also possible for an unsecured sound module to get damaged from rattling around inside the hilt.

All that being said, Erv's method will be one of the cheaper ways to secure the electronics. If you use that method you will need a rotary tool (Dremmel) and a hot glue gun.

Here's a link to Erv's tutorial...
http://www.plecterlabs.com/catalog/article_info.php?articles_id=19

Darth Vane
04-18-2008, 07:09 AM
i looked through it. its a good idea. but i was just wondering if theres is is a diffarent way of doing it. like with out a sink tube or any thing. this is my first saber so just want to keep it simpel. plus i have no experience with a dremmel and my luck i would screw it up:oops: :lol:

Jonitus
04-18-2008, 07:57 AM