PDA

View Full Version : Wotcha!

SWAT Strachan
03-29-2008, 06:37 PM
Greetings from the UK :).

As with many people who post their first introductory threads on this forum, I too an a complete novice when it comes to the wonderful world of the custom saber. To date I only own the two sabers, one being the original (and so far unmolested) Luke Skywalker ANH MasterFX replica, and the Lightsaber Construction Kit modified by Ultrasabers (so really you could say I have over a thousand sabers!!... Just not all at the same time ;)).

I've been doing a lot of lurking, researching, Googling and YouTubing to see what's available to me in the way of a custom-built saber, and hopefully within the next few days I will have my first MHS saber on order from www.jqlightsabers.co.uk (so far Daren from JQL has been a great help with the design phase of my order). The plan is to have two identical hilts made, but one with a red LuxIII and one with a blue, as I haven't decided where my loyalties lie just yet ;). These will both be short dual-wield sabers with the option of coupling them together using (hopefully) a custom made choke piece.

I decided long ago to let someone else take care of the electronics and assembly of the saber, as the results of my DIY skills could be measured on the Richter scale...

Now a little background. I live in a relatively small village just outside Portsmouth, on the south coast of the United Kingdom. I'm not a convention goer, neither am I a fanatical collector of everything that is Star Wars. In fact the only other SW collectables I have are some miniature ship models hidden in the attic somewhere). However, I thoroughly enjoy the films every time that I watch them, and with my background in collecting (both real and imitation) weapons it was only a matter of time before I hankered after my very own lightsaber.