PDA

View Full Version : Orbital Machining

Darth Relin
03-11-2008, 05:49 PM
anyone one get any of there hilts made by theses guys besides the Amazing Killer Penny. there working on a 3d rendering for me i just wonderd if any one else has had there stuff made by them? and thanks for X-wings web site recomending them to me.

xwingband
03-11-2008, 06:10 PM
I'm sure a few have but this is Tim's (TCSS owner) site so we generally don't talk about where else we shop. ;)

Darth Relin
03-11-2008, 06:23 PM
o sorry. i was just wonderin if anyone had any picks.

BhujangiJedi
03-11-2008, 07:40 PM
TCSS offerings increase in value the more you can do with them, so refraining from discussing saber-related products & services just because they're offered by some other company/person probably does Tim more of a disservice than help.

I know I'm pretty new to TCSS and don't know Tim personally, but from what I can tell he's a saber enthusiast doing what he can to support the DIY saber community and run a business. None of the posts I have seen discouraging discussion of other saber resources have been by Tim himself - is he in fact opposed to it?

In the case of Orbital Machining - I know Tim will do custom work, but does he even offer the services Orbital does?

I think that ultimately this forum stands a better chance to be the resource for not only DIY saber construction, but also custom orders and minor mods if the discussion is completely open, honest, and informative, without any (self) censorship of competing products. And the more authoritative a source this forum is, the wider exposure it gets, and ultimately the more customers Tim gets.

So let's all share whatever info we have to help people bring their glowy fantasies into reality. :)

xwingband
03-11-2008, 08:56 PM
I understand... it's just a fuzzy line. No one has a problem discussing sabers not built with TCSS parts. I guess the line is "soliciting"?