PDA

View Full Version : Tubing hilt Question

chucksolo
03-06-2008, 12:30 AM
im a newb to the building saber scene.. I have done' a hardware store saber and now I want to try cutting my teeth on something new. I hope im doing this thread right?
I see people making sabers with this metal on/in metal look.. A tube inside a tube with the outer tube cut away exposing the inner tube? My question is what are the tube sizes??? I have 1.5 in pipe tube but I can't seem to find any other tube that fits snuggly inside it when I go to lowes or osh or home depot!.. what pipe will fit inside a 1.5 tube or a 1.25 tube? Do I use PVC with metal and paint it?? I have seen people with TCSS parts and plumbing tube on top of that.? what is the Diameter of TCSS MHS tubes? can someone point me in the right direction?
thanks

Hasid Lafre
03-06-2008, 12:33 AM
Mhs od is 1.45"

chucksolo
03-06-2008, 01:05 AM
all the mhs are 1.45? so will that fit in a 1.5 with little play or gap?
thanks
c

TimeRender
03-06-2008, 03:33 AM
No. There is no gap. The fit is quite snug.

Edit: Questions about hilt construction should go in the "General hilt building" thread. If you have questions about specific MHS parts post them in the "Modular hilt system" thread.

xl97
03-06-2008, 06:12 AM
he posted in the misc thread.. (geez)

anyways.. I have found is 'sorta' depends on the SINKTUBE you have.. as some fit very snugg on MHS parts..and some slide more loosely..

I have some the BL will slide fully through and some where the adaptor will not...

put a couple set screws should take any 'slack'...

you can also get some thin walled PVC that fit SNUG over not only the MHS parts..but aldo the 1.5 Sink Tube as well..

TimeRender
03-06-2008, 06:15 AM