PDA

View Full Version : brightness

Kri-to Inakr
03-03-2008, 06:18 PM
I'm also new to the saber search and i can't decide which to go with EL or LED. I have read the pros and cons of each, but which one do most people go with usually. I guess I'm gonna be a follower, but I can't decide. So if someone has some insight on this and could ease my decision that would be great.

Lord Maul
03-03-2008, 06:19 PM
Did you read the "New to the saber scene" forum, the Thread Index, and the FAQ?

Most go with LED nowadays. EL is becoming less and less popular, but is still superior in quick color swapping.

xwingband
03-03-2008, 09:35 PM
So what's the question?

The topic is brightness? Simple, Luxeon all the way.

Most are honestly going Luxeon now, but EL isn't without it's perks. Like Maul said, color swapping is tops and despite the lack of brightness that makes it super safe, say if you wanted to make a "kiddie" saber.

37H4N
03-03-2008, 10:55 PM
Not trying to force my opinion here but to EL sucks. Trust me you almost cannot duel with EL sabers. I've been there done that and it ended badly.
In terms of brightness for EL, even though I've only tried two colors, lime green is the brightest. I compared my lime green blade to an MR saber and there was almost no difference. Not realy important but I just want to bash white. White EL blades are unbelievably disapointing, I turned it on with lights on and couldn't tell if it was on or not, turned the lights off, well I could see it but it might as well have not been on. Yes, it's that bad.

Now that my rant is over, go with LED. Now if your wanting the 3/4 OD of an EL blade then just buy the reducer and a 3/4 blade from the shop and put it in your LED saber. It won't be as bright but you've got the best of both worlds.

Count Malik
03-04-2008, 05:14 PM
Yes, go with Luxeon LEDs they are the brightiest of them all and they're the closiest to the the real thing you can get. Besides EL is old technology. Hope this helps.

ArkaiHalon