PDA

View Full Version : Hilt lighting question

Lord Sceleris
02-08-2008, 08:18 AM
Hello all, I am new to the forum and to Sabersmithing, I am looking to build my first saber soon, but wanted to ping a few of the more experienced individuals out there.

I have a basic Idea of how I want my saber to look, one thing I would really like to do is have a secondary light source inside the hilt/center section of the saber. I was inspired by a combination of a Random sabers creation and Xwing's "Crystal Chamber" idea.

The question is how would I install this? I know it will require custom machining of the parts, and some experimentation on my part since I am new to this, but I would like ideas...

Should I/can I, tie it to the main power switch so the lights are only on when the blade is? Should I tie it to a secondary switch?

Anyways, I am going to include a picture of the random sabers piece that inspired me and a mock up of how I see the blade looking using parts from TCSS.

Lord Sceleris

Inspiration
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c33/svisionguy/sagaris2.jpg

My Concept
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c33/svisionguy/testsaber7.jpg

Ghostbat
02-08-2008, 09:58 AM
I personally would tie it to the same switch as the light/sound. If it's independent you may find your batteries long dead by the time you need to power up...

Although as I say this I am suddenly falling in love with the idea of a few low powered LEDs running off a button cell or AAAA or something that could be on nearly all the time. You would barely notice them when the blade was on as they would be a tiny fraction of the brightness, but they would add a nice punch to the hilt otherwise.

Jay-gon Jinn
02-08-2008, 12:44 PM
This has been done by a member here, Lord Maul. There is a thread dedicated to the build here:
http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com/showthread.php?t=1780

TimeRender
02-08-2008, 12:55 PM