PDA

View Full Version : Corbin's driver + Royal Blue LuxIII = not so bright

strengthofrage
02-05-2008, 06:17 PM
Hey guys, I just wired up my latest MHS and was a bit disappointed with the brightness. It looks really dull. The blade I am using is the complete Corbin battle blade from the shop. I know it wont look as good as the show blade but this thing is pretty pale. I am running a royal blue luxIII with Corbin's driver and using a Hasbro board for sound on a separate circuit (aside from the power switch, the board is momentary to match the Hasbro). Any ideas why it would be so dim?

***Fresh out of the package batteries used when I finished wiring so it can't be dead batteries***

Lord Maul
02-05-2008, 06:20 PM
Weak solder connections could be the culprit. Royal Blue LEDs are really weak with Corbin's blade. I know that from experience ;)

strengthofrage
02-05-2008, 06:37 PM
That could be... I am a somewhat seasoned solder vet but I hear cold joints can happen to any guy from time to time.

I used one of the quick disconnect set ups for it... any possibility I am losing something there?

DarthFender
02-05-2008, 06:52 PM
That could be... I am a somewhat seasoned solder vet but I hear cold joints can happen to any guy from time to time.

I used one of the quick disconnect set ups for it... any possibility I am losing something there?

If the royal blue is anything like the regular blue... it's just a dimmer LED. The blue lux III is about 40 lumens compared to the green at 80. Also the human eye sees green as brighter. Also, I think that with the royal blues some of the light is not visible as it is in the UV spectrum.

Anyone, please correct me on that if I'm wrong.

xwingband
02-05-2008, 07:11 PM
Get some PolyP/Cellophane and put that in the blade. I like the saturation of Royal Blue despite it's "dimness".

goldsaberwarrior
02-06-2008, 03:39 AM
Well if I knew this I would've gotten a regular blue with my saber parts. Sounds like a prob the EJ may have.