PDA

View Full Version : I suppose this is late, but...

Davey
01-16-2008, 10:26 AM
I can't believe I forgot to introduce myself! I ran into a few problems when I first came to the old PHPBB board when I tried logging in at first, thanks to Xwingband for helping me out with that!

I'll introduce myself now: My name is Davey, I live around the Toronto area in Canada. I'm a first-year mechanical engineering tech student. I was referred here by the people over at Stardestroyer.net when I started asking some questions about building illuminated sabers.

Once a Warsie, always a Warsie, and I've been a Warsie since I was a kid, and I still remember cobbling together crude illuminated sabers using fisher-price flashlights and golf tubes with duct tape, screws, and nails. I would've bought the Starwars toys but I never really got around to it. But now times have changed, as have I. I'm looking to build my very first illuminated saber from scratch. I'm a very extreme person and my saber designs (http://daveluck.deviantart.com/gallery/#Lightsaber-I) reflects that. Even though this is a prop, that hasn't stopped me from deciding to use stainless and tool steels in its construction to make this saber indestructible - and just to make this design even more wicked and imposing, I decided to add a treated spike onto the pommel made from treated hardened tool steel. I did the designs in AutoCAD but unfortunately I haven't had much time in the machine shop to actually get down to making them. If I had time down there, then resources and tooling wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately, we're not normally supposed to use the machinery for anything else but school projects.

Despite that, I'm hopeful, and I'm glad I found this site, I'm going to need all the help I can get if I'm going to make this baby.

Thanks!

Obi-Dar Ke-Gnomie
01-16-2008, 02:23 PM
Hey, another Ontarian! Welcome! I'm about 1 1/2 hours north of Toronto.