PDA

View Full Version : blade idea

bushidobaggins
02-06-2006, 01:45 PM
Hi,
I just found this forum through the RPF and hopefully will start my first saber very soon. I had a blade idea and wanted to see if it would work. I have a few lengths of 1/2" polycarbonate left over from another project and was wondering if I could use it to replace the polyE. I would have to sand it of course to cloud it, but I wondered if it would make the blade stiffer. I've been making props for a few years, but have no experience with lightsabers, so I don't know how well it would work. Thanks for any feedback.
Zach

xwingband
02-06-2006, 04:32 PM
Just sanding it is a lot of work and the results would be less than spectacular. It would really make the blade heavy too.

<center>http://www.dewbackwing.com/dewbacks/files/pinupbanner.jpg
www.dewbackwing.com</center>

scaarmor
02-06-2006, 05:32 PM
I agree, very heavy. However, if you wanted to you could always use a 1" blade and throw a 3/4" EL size blade in that, And then an EL size diffuser inside that...Of course it would weigh a ton but it would stiffen the blade like you want.

Cain

***It is now that we battle.When you die, await my arrival in the afterlife where we will battle again.Perhaps there you may have the ability to defeat me,but not here,not now,not this day.So let us part with words and embrace the blade.***

bushidobaggins
02-06-2006, 05:57 PM
Thanks for the advice. I agree though, I don't think it could be sanded well enough to look as good as polyE. Since I want to make it stiffer for fighting purposes, the weight gain wouldn't really be that good of an idea. Besides, I haven't heard anything bad about the blades being too bendy anyway. Thanks again for the tips!
Zach

scaarmor
02-07-2006, 03:17 AM