PDA

View Full Version : VIDEO AND EDITING

Syphon
10-21-2007, 05:49 PM
Hello all
Of course im new to the forum and saber building as well, so i hope im posting this in the right spot. Anway, in about a years time some friends of mine and I will be doing some videos with our sabers and possibly mini movies. I have just begun to look into this process as a hobby. Ill be getting my drimel in a few days for my birthday so I can start customizing my first saber, and at christmas ill be getting a digital video camera. If anyone can offer some tips on video editing, or saber techniques please post some ideas or any info you can offer. Now on the saber side of things, I have been disecting the techiques used in the movies and cartoons to come up with some styles used, I am a student of Iaido(sword) and have a basis on which to go on, but if anyone has any references they can probide I would very much appreciate it.

Novastar
10-22-2007, 12:55 AM
Video editing & fight choreography is a pretty large topic to cover. I'll help a little though...

Select your shots WISELY.

As a film-maker, YOU choose what the audience sees and what it does not. The film audience has absolutely no free will to observe what they want--you control it. Keep that in mind. You can zoom, pan, do whatever you like to get a shot--and cut out what you don't want them to see later. You can have an actor standing on a ladder--UNSEEN by the camera's "eye"... or dancing teddy bears behind you. If the camera doesn't capture it... the audience will never know it was there. Use this to your advantage... be creative... ;) ... you might come up with some nifty ways to do interesting "effects"... with zero or little budget...

Use the fact that 2D media... is 2D!