PDA

View Full Version : Custom Hilt - Darth Talon

Mitji
10-15-2007, 07:40 PM

Hi, everyone. I'm a costumer and prop builder, and I'm gearing up to work on a new project: Darth Talon from the Legacy comic series.

For the past few years I've been carrying a bladeless saber prop when I costume at events and conventions. I made it from sink parts and a couple drawer pulls. It's nice to be able to clip the hilt onto my belt and not have to worry about a blade... but whenever I pose for pictures, it always looks pretty silly until I go back and Photoshop in a saber blade!

http://chucrew.com/Photos/PamsToy.jpg

http://chucrew.com/Photos/CIV/PamDougSaber.jpg

For my Darth Talon costume, I want to go the extra mile and put an EL or LED blade on my saber. The saber hilt will be sculpted in oil clay, molded, cast in resin, and then antiqued to make the raised patterns really stand out. I have to do all of this because Talon's hilt is a very unique design:

http://chucrew.com/Talon/TalonSaber.jpg

And now, my reason for posting on this forum:

I have started researching options for the blade and inner workings of my Darth Talon lightsaber, and I would like very much to hear some input and suggestions from the folks who know a lot more about sabers than I do! I'm good at prop building, but I'm a novice when it comes to electronics! In other words, I know how to make the hilt... but I'm not sure of what to put inside it!

Would anyone out there like to offer some suggestions, advice, or general know-how for this project?