PDA

View Full Version : AC/DC Wiring for K2

The_Savior
09-27-2007, 05:47 PM
I purchased a life sized Yoda awhile back and I would like to convert his lightsaber into a lighted version with a K2 LED. I have purchased the items, but I have several questions regarding converting AC/DC to make it work along with wiring.

I've purchased the following:

1 - K2 Luxeon Green
1 - 1.5 Ohm 5W resistor
1- LED Holder

Reading the resistor chart it says target mA is 1500 for the K2. Does that mean I purchase a AC/DC power supply that has a target value of 6w and 1500mA??

I have a power supply right now that can vary from 3v - 12v, but it only sends out 500mA. Would that be a factor in trying to light the LED? I'm new to all of this so I apologize for my ignorance on the subject.

If I'm not mistaken the resistor goes between the power on the LED and the power on the AC/DC power supply. I don't need a switch because it's going to be hooked up to a light switch that will be controlled.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Lord Maul
09-27-2007, 05:53 PM
I'd skip the trouble of a AC/DC converter and just put a AA battery holder on the back of the stand up. It'd save you a headache.

The_Savior
09-27-2007, 05:54 PM
I wouldn't be against that, but the problem is he's going to be about 8' off the ground on a platform. That's one of the reasons I wanted to do the AC to DC thing.

Hasid Lafre
09-27-2007, 06:05 PM
oh I see its a big yoda.

But not as big as this.
http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb168/Sidneyious/Misc%20Pics/yoda-356x450.jpg

As for the ac/dc converter thing. What Iw ould do is instead of a lux led I would get a lightbulb that green and stick it in the end of the hilt. would light up alot better than a lux would.

The_Savior
09-27-2007, 06:07 PM
Definitely not that big. :)

Actually I've seen the a Yoda done with a Lux and it was very impressive. I just wasn't sure how he was wiring the AC to DC power. I just need to know what converter to get.

xwingband