PDA

View Full Version : Blacklight LEDs

Daj Nallig
01-25-2006, 09:10 PM
Has anyone tried using a blacklight led in a saber yet?
I was looking around the "Superbright LED" website and they have some interesting products-leds built into a bolt. 5mm & 10mm sizes.
Since I'm a rank newbie to the lightsaber world, please don't take offense if I have unwittingly typed something stupid.

xwingband
01-25-2006, 09:54 PM
Do-Clo just mentioned once using neon colored tubes and uv lights so it's not an out there idea. You'd be confined to those neon colors to make the most use of it though. In addition to those LED's being small you'd have make an MR style blade which would be a major pain but possible. The 1 watt I see on their site would probably be more worthwhile to investigate if you like the idea.

<center>http://www.dewbackwing.com/dewbacks/files/pinupbanner.jpg
www.dewbackwing.com</center>

Daj Nallig
01-26-2006, 09:55 PM
Well, the idea I had was this...10mm blacklight led built into a bolt, adapt it to the heat sink in the mhs kit by drilling the center hole and tapping it to accept the led bolt. problem is, it's set up for 12v. I don't know if 12v. rechargeable power packs are available that are small enough to fit in the mhs hilt.

"Don't call me scruffy-looking"

tetmatek
01-26-2006, 10:42 PM
i have some 10 mm in several colors and it would take maybe 5 to get the brightness of 1 3w lux.

http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/3213/sig35jo.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Do-Clo
01-27-2006, 11:17 AM
I put the uv leds in the hilt and not in the blade, if you use 3/4 inch diameter 1/8 inch wall tubing you can get an even light with just four 5 mm uv leds. You will need a mirrored surface on your end cap to even out the light on the end of the blade but it looks good and you will not need a heat sink with the 5 mm leds because I run them at 25 miliamps with a constant current circuit that I built for leds.

Do-Clo
Don't make me destroy you...

Daj Nallig
01-27-2006, 09:50 PM