PDA

View Full Version : Would this button work as a auxillary switch?

Braxus
09-02-2007, 12:56 AM
I came across a link to a site that sells Buttons and noticed this one.
Here is the link: http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bin/item/PB-143/700325/HD_METAL_PUSHBUTTON,_N.O._MOMENTARY_.html

As im a total noob when it comes to this electronic stuff, i dont know if it would work as an auxillary switch like for erv's board or that it would even fit in a custom hole on a MHS Hilt. Can you guys help me out? oh, and whats the diff between Momentary and push on/off? Can Momentary be used as an on/off switch?

This Flat one too would be cool to have:
http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bin/item/PB-144/700325/HD_METAL_PUSHBUTTON,_FLAT_-_MOMENATRY,_N.O._.html

neophyl
09-02-2007, 02:30 AM
Both of those could be used with Ervs board. They are physically a fairly large switch hovever so you would certainly have to get the hole on a MHS enlarged. They would also 'stick' out a bit where the bezel edge is as they are designed for mounting on a flat surface not a tube.

One of my sabres uses a varient for the main on/off making use of the crystal focus circuits configurability to allow the use of a momentary action switch instead of a latching type.

http://www.spartandesign.co.uk/pictures/jeffrekcfv2.jpg

The one I used has a led built in which is used for the low power indicator on the CF.

A momentary switch only lets power through when you are physically holding the button/lever/actuator. A push on/off is a latching type of switch where it stays in positiom until you press it again. Slide switches, most rocker switchers etc are latching for example.

Braxus
09-02-2007, 05:41 AM
Thats a nice saber neophyl.

They would also 'stick' out a bit where the bezel edge is as they are designed for mounting on a flat surface not a tube.