PDA

View Full Version : OD question/Lens question

strengthofrage
08-28-2007, 06:24 PM
Hello,

I just found your site a few days ago; lots of info, I like it.

I have made a few custom hilts before but nothing more than a few 'pretty' LEDs for internals. The hilts themselves were standard hardware store hilts but nicely done. I now want to try one using your 'complete blade' and Luxeon LED parts but I have a few questions...

1). I see that you offer a package including the LED, lens, holder etc. My question is why is it only offered with the 10 degree lens? All of the forum posts and 'how to' info says that the 5 degree would be better with the thick walled polycarb blade... I have my mind set on the 5 degree after reading all of the info but have to piece it together due to the set being offered with only the 10. Are there sets that have the 5 degree lens?

2). I dont want to use the sink tube like I did on my past few hilts but I still want the hilt to be as custom as possible. I was thinking of ordering a section of aluminum tubing from onlinemetals.com but I need to know the best way to adapt it to your TCSS blade holder. I saw the '1.25" Sink tube LED/Blade holder' and thought I could use that. If I do, I would need to know the OD of that blade/LED holder before I ordered the aluminum. Could you please let me know that measurement?

Thanks in advance!

987654321a
08-28-2007, 06:34 PM
1) When you are all finished with your order, pm Tim (Strydur) here and ask him to replace the 10 degree with 5 degrees. Also be sure to provide your order number. However I am not sure if he will do this so you will have to ask him directly.

2)Buy MHS pieces here and put them together, way easier to use than a tube from online metals. And unless you have a lathe, the metal pipe from online metals is as good as scrap. Meaning it doesnt look good at all.

Novastar
08-28-2007, 07:06 PM