PDA

View Full Version : Newb question about blade holder...

deathscythe
08-19-2007, 07:50 PM
I'm in the process of figuring this stuff out. I have a very good idea of what I'm doing, but I've never done it before, and I thought I'd ask the folks who already know what they are doing. :wink:

My question is: what is the real purpose of the LED blade holder. I'm looking at supplementing my hardware saber with the thick walled polycarbonate tube sold here. I gather that the blade has an OD of 1 inch. In essence, is the blade holder just a part with an ID of 1 inch? Would I be able to use another part that simply has the ID of 1" to perform the same function? I guess I'm really asking how the blade holder holds the blade in the saber. Is it just a snug fit?

Thanks.

vortextwist
08-19-2007, 07:53 PM
yes but it also hold the led and optics together.

pockets
08-19-2007, 07:53 PM
the blade holder serves both to hold the blade in place, as well as hold the LED and heatsink the LED. trust me its worth the $25 in a hardware saber.

GFORCE13
08-19-2007, 08:23 PM
Yes to pockets you must listen, I would never put a Lightsaber together without one Tims Emitters. Especially if you are planning on dueling, it gives you extra solid support for the blade and makes it so much easier since it holds the Led in place and you really need the Heatsink if you want your Led to last.

Hasid Lafre
08-19-2007, 08:34 PM
its best to get a bladeholder here cause it kills 5 birds with one stone.

It holds the blade properly and strong, holds the led, optics, and heatsink in place.

deathscythe
08-19-2007, 09:31 PM
Wow, thanks for the quick response! :)