PDA

View Full Version : MR comparison?

dbraxton9
01-16-2006, 06:40 PM
I am a prop builder and not a collector so I don't know much about these new MR FX sabers. I saw some at the mall today and think they look great but I could not try out the effects as there was no battery. is there a difference from say the Windu to the skywalker to the vader etc as far as how well the sounds and effects work? if i get one I plan on converting it to RGB LED but if there is a difference in the electronics i might get a different one for the sounds.

"Look at me! Judge me by my size do you? And well you do not! For my ally is the force, and a powerful ally it is!

xwingband
01-16-2006, 06:59 PM
I don't own one but I hear many don't like the Windu's sounds not too mention the purple blade is quite disappointing. They characterize the humming sound as too much of a growl. I don't mind either of the sounds on the Anakin or Vader.

I have yet to try a Luke RotJ, but I haven't heard anything bad.

<center>http://www.dewbackwing.com/dewbacks/files/pinupbanner.jpg
www.dewbackwing.com</center>

Wolverine
01-16-2006, 09:18 PM
I have all 4 of them, and although Windu's color doesn't jump out at you the way the other Sabers do, the trade-off is that the hilt is the most elegant and realistic feel (weight) of all the Sabers.
The Anakin, and Vader Sabers over-all look about the same quality, and richness of color wise.
The Luke ROTJ looks quite alot like the movie, but not at the top of the hilt, but the richness of that saber totally reminds me of his in ROTJ, I keep picking that one up, and spinning it, and it does remind me of Luke's in the movie. However, the ROTJ hilt feels like your swinging a pencil around, it's noticably lighter than all the others.