PDA

View Full Version : Blade assembly and Darth Maul question.

Kurosawa
07-08-2007, 03:59 AM
Im planning to buy the darth maul conversion kit, but i hear that the stock blade will not fit. If i sand down the base of the blade, will it fit? More importanly, I am a noob at the whole assembling blades. What do i need to build a corbin style blade? I know that i need the poly C tube, a double wrap of the defuser, and the shouldered tip. Do i need both the adhesive disc and the mirror? and how do i go about assembling all of these components and with what type of glue? thanks.

xwingband
07-08-2007, 06:59 AM
Once converted the stock Maul blade will not fit. You would have to sand it down to fit as it's now made to fit ANY 1" blade.

If you stuck with the stock one you would only need a mirror. I wouldn't use the adhesive disc (you need the rigidity). Just push it up with a dowel or maybe with the old foam diffuser.

vortextwist
07-08-2007, 07:24 AM
or just buy a completed corbin blade. :)

Steeljack
07-08-2007, 02:52 PM
Im planning to buy the darth maul conversion kit, but i hear that the stock blade will not fit. If i sand down the base of the blade, will it fit?

It's true that the stock Maul blades are slightly too large to fit into converted holders, but yes, if you sand down the stock blade, it will fit. That's what I did with mine. (Though I have a fair number of 1" blades at this point, I thought, "waste not, want not.") It's a straightforward process, if a slightly tedious one.

When I did the conversion, I poked the stock tips out of the top of the blade by running a long dowel the length of the blade. With the blade vertical, tip up, and the dowel's end resting on the floor, I gave a sharp jerk downward and -- presto. Plain tube ready for further mangulation.