PDA

View Full Version : Making our own sound fonts

xwingband
06-19-2007, 01:40 PM
This related to Erv's board but I thought it could warrant a seperate topic.

I started playing with the four banks on the saber. I initially just tested by changing a few sounds... conlusion: I suck at this. :?

It sounds different on the saber and the oddest things are in the saber but not in the files I hear on the computer. I'm using Sound Forge so I'm pretty sure I can do everything. I just need tips.

So please share. I guess next I'll probably record new bank sounds and find a boot I like.

Anyone have a good force lightning sound? I also think I want my boot sound to be the x-wing flyby sound on the older games.

Hasid Lafre
06-19-2007, 02:21 PM
Ive alwase been a fan of the FL when palpy is going at luke right before vader tosses him.

Novastar
06-19-2007, 04:46 PM
Well, X... despite what people might think--creating sound files is actually a lot more difficult (and more of an art) than one might believe. There are many considerations when creating sound, and in this case, we need to think about the application and the delivery method. Some important things to remember:

1. ZERO CROSSING POINT. There is a lot of explanation to be made here, but just think to fade in and fade out the first and last (let's say) 0.05 seconds of each sound. I could extrapolate more, but it will get complicated.

2. <1DB IS BEST. You want to be careful on how "loud" your sounds are, depending on the speaker and also on the quality of the sound itself. Don't go higher than 1dB. In fact, I recommend staying under it as much as possible--say around 0.8dB.

3. CLEAN "ATTACK" AND FADE. If your sound is "suddenly" too harsh, or drops off too quickly, your speaker might have some trouble adjusting. Especially since it is small. Go easy on it if possible. I had trouble with my dark side sounds in this way, but they are passable on a good speaker. My light side ones are better.