PDA

View Full Version : my first lightsaber

pthomas625
06-11-2007, 12:09 PM
hi, i'm completely new to lightsaber building. just a few questions...1)what do you prefer? led or el blade? 2)for el blade, is the purple as dim as it is in the picture? 3)will it hurt to run the 4 kHz inverter with a 9v to 18v adapter? 4) i'm not looking to build a completely custom saber, so does this shopping list look like it covers everything?

Body of Hilt:
Screw on EL blade holder style 5
MHS ribbed extension v-grooved
12x 1-3/16" ID O-ring
Double threaded hilt style 3

Pommel:
MPS Clip
MPS Insert style 1
MPS Pommel style 1

Blade:
EL blade - Blue
Size?: 40"

Wiring:
1/4" Mono Jack
9v to 18v adapter
4Khz Inverter
SPST Push on/off - Mom switch with black button
Black rubber switch boot
Red LED indicator

p.s. do i need anything extra for the red led indicator? and what exactly does it do? lol. does it just turn on when the blade's on? or is it a low-battery indicator?

Thanks in advance for any tips, help, suggestions etc.

Barmic Rin
06-11-2007, 12:19 PM
Why not LED?

1)I love my EL, but they don't get a look-in now I have my LED's!
2)Brighter than EL. (Brightest in my experience are Purple & Green, blue seems especially washed out IMHO)
3)Less wiring to worry about (I hate inverters!)
4)That should cover it.

pthomas625
06-11-2007, 12:26 PM
well, i initially chose EL because it looks simpler. and cheaper i think. i also chose it so i could change out blade colors easier. and i like the even lighting with EL. i'm not too worried about wiring, unless it's really complicated. and you say purple EL is brightest? cause purple was my initial choice.

lol, how well do the LED hilts work as flashlights? (without the blade)

Barmic Rin
06-11-2007, 12:42 PM
Very Well! :wink:

You could always use Tims quick -change LED system if you wanna change colours.

EL & LED are two different leagues entirely!!!!

pthomas625
06-11-2007, 12:45 PM