PDA

View Full Version : Newb Help

archammer2
01-11-2006, 10:05 AM
Not really sure if this is the right part of the forum for these types of questions, but why not? (Bear with me, folks. I've never done anything like this before.)

I've recently come to the conclusion that I can build my own lightsaber (kind of obvious, right?) but I've got some questions...

1) I've got most of it planned out and I know jsut what parts I need and want to make my saber hilt. I was wondering just what I'd need to be able to put an EL blade in my hilt? The needed electronics, naturally, and a bit of pipe with screws such that the blade will fit snugly... But is that all I'd need?

2) Unfortunately, I have very little when it comes to tools and I have zero soldering experience. I'm assuming that all the neat little electrons need to be soldered, right?

Again, newb questions. Probably answered somewhere but I wanted to be sure on these two points. Any other pointers for the rookie?

Thanks, much, for your help!

xwingband
01-11-2006, 10:17 AM
1) you'd greatly benefit from reading the build a basic EL forum. Parts are listed there. Strydur sells all you'd need but you might be most interested in the kit he sells though or at least his blade holder.

2) Soldering is required but not always with an iron. If it's just two wires you can buy tape solder. You wrap the strips around the two wires and heat it up with a heat gun or heck even a plain lighter. It's not as neat or accurate but it works. If you put heat shrink over it though no one will know.[:D][;)]

<center>http://www.dewbackwing.com/dewbacks/files/pinupbanner.jpg
www.dewbackwing.com</center>

thebluecanary
01-11-2006, 10:25 AM
If you think you have the skill, I found this site very helpful for designing my own custom hilt. http://www.sitharchives.com/

archammer2
01-11-2006, 10:26 AM