PDA

View Full Version : Question about LS Design

bgonc1482
03-21-2007, 04:50 AM
Hi, I'm new to the saber scene, and was wondering if it would be possible to build a Tonfa-style lightsaber hilt. Also, would it be possible to do this by hand, or would it have to be custom machined (I don't have a metal lathe).

And a quick question to finish it out: would it be possible/practical to make a hilt out of wood? Not one that would house electronics or anything, just to look nice. I have a wood lathe and was wondering if that would work out.

Thanks for any future help!

Jonitus
03-21-2007, 06:36 AM
For your first question:

Yes, it is possible to build a tonfa-style lightsaber. How practical it would be, I don't know, but you could do it. I should think that you could use the MHS system sold in the store for the main body, and then use a readily available aluminum part for your handle...properly adapted of course. I was thinking you could go to a local bike shop and get a set of foot pegs and use one for your handle. You would need a threaded stud to connect it to the hilt, but that shouldn't be a problem.

For your second question:

You could certainly use wood in a lightsaber. I don't have the link, but a member on this very board did a saber that incorporated wood. Maybe take a look through the "show pictures of your sabers here" thread. I have seen, scattered across the internet, pictures of sabers that had a mix of wooden parts and metal parts. They look good if done correctly.

P.S. Welcome to the forum.

bgonc1482
03-21-2007, 06:39 AM
Thanks much Jonitus!

I will look into those pegs, they sound like a great idea.

Jonitus
03-21-2007, 07:08 AM
From my recollection, the pegs are about 3.5 to 4 inches long, 1.25 to 1.5 inches in diameter and come in natural aluminum or anodized in a rainbow of colors. Typically, they have knurling on them, so it would provide a good grip for your hand. A decent set at a bike shop shouldn't cost more than 20 or 30 bucks.

bgonc1482