PDA

View Full Version : Parts and skills needed for a saber

Shiney
02-23-2007, 09:44 AM
Hey all. I've been lurking around this for some time, but I finally got the patience to register and ask after buying some of the Acrylic crystals. I'm completely new at all this, and none of the FAQs seemed to explain this clearly.

Were I to use the MHS builder, and include the basic electronics package, simple blade and whatnot, what would I still need, in terms of parts, AND skills to allow myself to actually use the blade?

As the sound drivers are out of stock, in order to get sound on my blade at a later date, exactly what would I need, in terms of skills and process to isntall the luke FX sound module?

Basically, I'm just asking what I'm missing to get my starting basic saber through the MHS, and how I can add onto it later.

Lastly, is it likely that later on, should I get an excess of MHS'ed hilts, that I could re-use some of them for other systems, such as hyperdyne?

jjshumpert
02-23-2007, 10:18 AM
your mhs hilts are pretty basic, all you really need is a blade holder, center section, and pommel. the blade holder comes with the heatsink, and the basic electronics kits come with everything you need to wire the saber. all that your missing at that point is your optics and holder. tim doesnt include those with the electronics kit because of the options available to the customer. i would sugjest going with the 5 degree optics and holder. if you want red go with 3w, if you want green go with 5w, if you want blue go with k2.

if you want sound later on you can wait till tim gets more lukes in or you can buy a broken mr from ebay. the luke module lends itself best to the conversions, and can be used with a 3w or k2 as both the lux driver and sound. using an mr module with a 5w is a little more tricky, but still easily doable.