PDA

View Full Version : 3D printed chassis

bunger
02-18-2016, 12:04 PM
I know there are a handful of 3D printed chassis available through shapeways, but was tossing around the idea of designing and printing my own.

Has anyone else tried this yet? Just curious how it went and whether you used PLA or ABS?

FenixFire
02-18-2016, 02:33 PM
Never used it for a chassis, but as a professional product designer I have a decade and a half of experience with rapid prototyping. If you have questions hit me up. Either PLA or ABS would work fine. If FDM Printing I would make sure the printer is processing in in 100 micron or better resolution if you have significant detail in the parts. Personally I prefer the ABS just because PLA is a bio-polymer and I have done several products based on the plastic that use the oils and bacteria in the users hands to start the composting process.

The SLS used by most of the ones on the sight you mention appear to be fairly good resolution as well.

I would stay away from anything PolyJet/Connex printed in general. If SLA I would stick with Somos Next or Accura Xtreame materials with a .04 minimum wall on anything remotely structural.

BartElroy
02-19-2016, 01:54 AM
There's a lot of trial and error involved. You design a part, print it, see what doesn't work. Change your design, reprint, and go again. Waiting for the prints is tedious, but otherwise it's fun. I've got pretty much an entire chassis system modeled, including a switch pack, sound board holder and expandable crystal chamber. I just need to finish the speaker holder. The whole process has been a blast.

darth_chasm
02-19-2016, 03:44 AM
I've been working on one and just got the components yesterday. Went with a mix of SLS nylon and stainless steel. Pretty pleased with the results.

FenixFire
02-19-2016, 06:32 AM
I've been working on one and just got the components yesterday. Went with a mix of SLS nylon and stainless steel. Pretty pleased with the results.