PDA

View Full Version : A Few Tips for a Rookie - Ultrasabers Apprentice LE V4 Remake

nathanielreykun
02-03-2016, 10:38 PM
Okay, so I've been doing saber things for a while now, but I'm only an amateur when it comes to the electronic sides of things (as in, I can certainly do it with a bit of help from reviewing posts, but I'm not so confident as to just go for it). So I've had an Ultrasabers stunt lightsaber, an Apprentice LE V4 with a white LED (made a nice golden yellow with color discs), for quite some time now, and now my favorite of my sabers had a little... Well, accident. The fix is relatively easy?a wire got cut during said "accident"?but as my hilt is now an empty husk ( :( ), I want to take this opportunity to change a few things with it, and as they're in a few different aspects, I figured it was best to do it in one fell swoop than a bunch of posts all over the place.

Change #1: An actual Yellow LED
I don't actually need help with this, but since I'm detailing my upgrade of my saber, I'm just throwing it in there. (Side note: my only reason for doing white with color discs is because I didn't know they offered their "Sentinel Yellow" LED.)

Change #2: New Switch
One other problem that arose during my little "accident" is that my ignition switch?a standard guarding latching switch?was damaged. A bit of the plastic guard broke off, and the button itself has a little more stick to it than I'm comfortable with. (In the initial incident of the "accident," it actually was stuck in the ON position for several minutes, until I could get it to contract.) So I'm a little less than comfortable with my current switch.
With this in mind, something I had been wanting to do is have an Anti Vandal Momentary switch with the yellow LED ring around it (to match the yellow of the blade, and, you know, look cool). So I've had a little difficulty finding out exactly how to wire that in correctly, and if I'll need a new resistor (more on that later).