PDA

View Full Version : Eager beginner in need of help with first saber

Muggle
01-31-2016, 12:56 PM
I've been lurking through these forums and watching Madcow's videos, trying to learn as much as I can about building a custom saber, and I think I've finally come up with a design that suits me:

http://i.imgur.com/VZh2jja.png

This is my first build, and it may be an ambitious one. There are things that I want, but I'm not sure what I can reasonably add beyond the most basic things (electronic wise). I want the electronics and chassis to be as basic and simple to put together as possible. I have watched through Madcow's video Basic Saber with Sound Part 2, and that's what I'm shooting for. However, I would for sure like to have flash-on-clash, and if possible I'd also like lock-up & sound effects. I would love some advice and help before I make any purchases. My biggest question is how I can set up the chassis for the design I've come up with, including features I'd like to have.

Here are my parts:
MPS Style 5
MPS Insert Style 6
Hilt Style 2
Choke Style 2
BH Style 3
Machined Covertech Button & 8-23 x 3/8" Socket Head
Bezel for illuminated Switch
Kill Plug
Sleeve Material
Different 8-32 thread knobs for securing sleeves and blade

These are the parts that I'm confident I need. However, I'm not sure what holes I'll need where. I watched the video on drilling and tapping for the blade screw, so I can figure out how to do the same for the screws that secure the sleeve material. However, I don't know where the kill key hole needs to go.

The following are chassis and electronics that I'm uncertain about. I would like to know if the modular wiring system is a good option for the Tri Cree LEDs needed for flash on clash.

Bass speaker
MHS Speaker Mount V4
4-40 all thread (x2)
Brass OD tube (x2)
Brass 4-40 hexnut (x2)
Black Acrylic Chassis for - NB & 18650 battery; Disc for recharge port
Chassis Disk Style 4
2.1mm Power Jack
16mm antivandal Green Latching Switch