PDA

View Full Version : Bass Speaker vs. Premium Speaker

erlomd
01-30-2016, 10:08 AM
Just wanted to know what are your takes on either of them...pros and cons...etc.

Im leaning towards the bass speaker for a fuller deeper tone that seems like it would work better with darker more deeper sound fonts. I have no experience with either speaker (or custom saber for that matter). Im building a Graflex 2.0 at the moment with a NBv3 and would like to know more about these two speakers offered at TCSS.

Im also wondering if there is a way to adjust a saber font using either of the 2 speakers in real time (just as you would adjust an EQ for music). so that you can adjust a sound font that you have purchased for optimum quality depending on your speaker & sound card.

Greenie
01-30-2016, 12:53 PM
I purchased a 28mm premium for my first build but I killed it with some light sparring with my 6yr old daughter! I replaced it with the 28mm bass and although I couldn't really compare them together.......whoa! The bass is loud and I would recommend it ;)

CET
01-30-2016, 02:01 PM
The bass is 2w vs the premium 1.5w, so there's a difference there. I've tried using the bass speaker in every one of my builds and it always sounds terrible to me. There's no high end sounds and it sounds very "rattley" to me.

It's possible that I've got a bad speaker, because it seems like everyone raves about them.

erlomd
01-30-2016, 02:02 PM
I purchased a 28mm premium for my first build but I killed it with some light sparring with my 6yr old daughter! I replaced it with the 28mm bass and although I couldn't really compare them together.......whoa! The bass is loud and I would recommend it ;)

Thanks! I'm guessing that these are the same speakers used in many of the high bass bluetooth portable speakers like beats or JBL...hmmm...

erlomd
01-30-2016, 02:06 PM