PDA

View Full Version : Anyone familiar with SF hilts?

Tirreg_Kolar
01-25-2016, 10:11 AM
Hello, TCSS forum members! I'm a complete novice to the art of saber-crafting, but I want to modify my current hilt to have full electronics (l.e.d., sound, aux. switch, the works). The problems I think I'm going to run into once I start completing my hilt are 1) the only piece that comes unscrewed is the pommel, and 2) around the switch section of my saber there is a quarter-inch thick inner ring that spans the entire switch section length on the inside, which is probably going to be a nightmare for installing switches. My hilt is a Saberforge (I know, I know) arbiter V2. It seems like a chassis system would fit if I made it as compact as possible, and I could probably use a screw of some kind to secure an l.e.d. module, but as far as getting it all in there, I'm a little stumped. Is anyone familiar with SF hilts and how to d.i.y. electronics install on them? I know it's a lot to ask, given SF's... popularity... but if anyone could help out, it would be very much appreciated! Thanks

Silver Serpent
01-25-2016, 11:08 AM
We're familiar with them. You already know our opinions. :)

In my personal opinion, the best option (other than building a new saber from scratch) is to completely gut the internals of your saber, and start with TCSS guts. I'm not entirely sure how you'd go about dismantling it enough to make a reinstall easy.

rlobrecht
01-25-2016, 11:10 AM

You're not going to find help for those products here.

NanoRex
01-25-2016, 01:07 PM
It's probably doable. Might be tricky due to some of said company's design decisions, but if you gave the inner dimensions of the hilt, we could give you more suggestions as to how to install TCSS electronics.

Tom Starkiller
01-25-2016, 01:33 PM
fx-sabers.com/forum/ is the best place to go for info on this.

Tirreg_Kolar
01-25-2016, 03:25 PM