PDA

View Full Version : Where best to mount speaker

Matthew_D_G
11-23-2015, 09:41 AM
I'm looking to add sound to my new saber and I'm not to sure where it would be best to mount the speaker.

Should I mount it in the pommel or would mounting it higher up in the main body (between the main body and the choke)
be better?
Might have more resonance mounting higher up?

What do you folks think?

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a233/Matthew_D_G/IMG_1761%20-%20Copy_zps4zzrn0z0.jpg (http://s12.photobucket.com/user/Matthew_D_G/media/IMG_1761%20-%20Copy_zps4zzrn0z0.jpg.html)

rlh14
11-23-2015, 09:47 AM
Personally I have my speaker about 1.36 inches from the bottom own my saber, and that seems to give me a good enough sound for my taste. Although keep in mind I'm still new to the saber building scene :). I would just take about my pieces and experiment as needed. Maybe someone else with more experience can comment. Best of luck.

clahey83
11-23-2015, 10:10 AM
if its a newer pommel (it would have the same inner diameter as the main hilt piece) you can use a chassis disk style 5 and a speaker holder style 4 and basically mount the speaker inside of the pommel. (the chassis disk would go in the pommel end of the choke with the speaker facing out)

Greenie
11-23-2015, 01:35 PM
My speaker is in the pommel, which seems to be pretty standard. Although it sounds good, ever since reading a thread on 'reverse sound' I kinda agree that it's the blade end that should emit the hum of a lightsaber. I'm now working on my second build and will be mounting a 20mm speaker in the 'choke' area facing front. I've yet to hear how it sounds, guess I'll find out and pass on what I have learned :)

Matthew_D_G
11-23-2015, 01:49 PM
Now that sounds like an interesting read Greenie, can you remember the name of the thread?
I really like the concept of having the sound come from the blade end.

Wonder if anyone has tried running 2 speakers? 1 in the pommel and 1 in the choke?

Greenie