PDA

View Full Version : Best saber for duel video

EmCee
11-09-2015, 03:02 PM
Hey There

I'm new to the saber world and quite overwhelmed :o. Ok so I wanna do a saber duel clip (e.g. like the one Ryan did) with visual FX etc. Can anyone recommend what kind of saber/blade is best for a) dueling (I guess without sound and less is better) and b) what color/led the best option is, so it's possible to add FX in the post production.

Thank you.

Greenie
11-09-2015, 04:05 PM
Hello there. If you mean Ryan & Dorkman, I would assume ,by the way they're smashing lightsabers about, that they are carbon fibre duelling blades with all lighting fx done in post :)

EmCee
11-09-2015, 04:38 PM
Yeah exactly. Question is if there are also other option, because the only saber with carbon I found is the one Ryan offers himself.

Cire Yeldarb
11-09-2015, 05:59 PM
TCSS has a Carbon Fiber option here (http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/Carbon-Fiber-C125.aspx) if that is what you are looking for.

Ty_Bomber
11-09-2015, 08:58 PM
It will save you a ton of time rotoscoping if you skip carbon fiber and just use an led saber with a poly c tube.

They can take it.

Tom Starkiller
11-10-2015, 03:08 AM
Though you'll still need to rotoscope, if you're going for the movie look. Lit up blades certainly make it easier, but they still look like lights in tubes unless you over expose the shot. Problem there is you'll blow out everything else as well. You'll need to play around with your camera to find out what exposures work best, and that'll probably vary from shot to shot. They have used lit up props for quite a few shots in The Force Awakens to get the light casting.

EmCee
11-10-2015, 11:25 AM