PDA

View Full Version : Help with wiring, lots of questions

Jon76
11-04-2015, 06:56 PM
Hey guys, I'm completely new with this lightsaber making stuff but I got hyped for the new movie and decided to finally make one.

I've been planning the lightsaber for the last month and have several questions regarding wiring because some of the info out there is either incomplete or contradicts other info.

First, here's an imgur link to the wiring diagram I have set up: http://i.imgur.com/NwvgVYV.png

Here are my questions:

I want to power this with a single cell 18650 in a battery holder, will this setup allow for that and give me good battery life or should I go with something else?
I want everything to be easily removable so I want to put a JST or push on terminal on everything, would that work?
To wire the battery holder with a JST/push on terminal, I just need to solder a wire to the negative and positive clips, correct?
My activation button is momentary, can I make the Crystal Focus treat it as latching or do I need to use a momentary to latching converter?
Does the wiring on the top and bottom terminals on the buttons matter? (The gray in the diagram)
The Crystal Focus manual says that the TXD and RXD on the RICE terminal should be disconnected when the saber is not in use. Can I keep them together, again with JST's and just remove the battery when I'm not using the saber?
How the hell am I supposed to wire the LED? The info and diagrams I found from other uses was confusing or again, contradictory.
Does the tri-rebel lens need the black lens holder from the shop holder or is it simply held by the cylindrical piece that holds the heatsink?
The crystal focus manual makes no distinction regarding speaker polarity, does that mean and wire can go to either of the points?