PDA

View Full Version : Sooo many questions...

chocol8milkman
09-12-2015, 07:13 PM
Hi all - wondering if y'all can help me with a couple questions that I have. I'm a newbie and don't know any other way to do this, so I'll just list them below. Here goes:

I have about a half-dozen items in my "wish-list" that are not in stock right now. How often do these actually get stocked? Should I wait for everything to come in or order bits over time? (these items are required to actually assemble the saber and I can't really do anything without them)
Is the ID of pommels wide enough to fit additional electronics/chassis length? For example: I want to have a shorter body and longer pommel (i.e. #10), but my chassis won't fit unless there's room in the pommel. Is this possible?
Are there recommended soldering tips/irons? I have a pretty cheap one (Nexxtech #DS-45B) with a messy tip. Should I upgrade (to what exactly)?
What type of rosin core solder do you use? What width? (I have a 1.2mm 60/40 roll, but think that might be too thick to work with the sound cards)
Where can I get 28 gauge electrical wire (the stuff Madcow uses)?

Big list, I know. But I'd really appreciate the help. Thanks guys.

http://imoviequotes.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/201-The-Treasure-of-the-Sierra-Madre-quotes.gif

Zahc Zi Phan
09-12-2015, 07:32 PM
Tim stocks stuff as fast as he can but high demand causes things to sell out. Get what you can a little at a time so it doesn't keep selling out before you can get everything.

The inner diameter of most pommels is the same as the MHS parts so you can fit some in yes. Although if you want sound you need to leave a little space in the pommel for the resonance chamber to make the speaker sound the best it can.

I have an X-tronic soldering station. They're not too expensive and come with all the goodies. You need an ESD safe station to work with these soundboards so you don't accidentally damage them with static discharge.